School Board Member Appreciation Week

The McDuffie County School District is joining in a statewide celebration this week to salute the efforts of local school board members. The week of March 12-16, 2018, has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education. Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district. The members of the McDuffie County Board of Education spend countless hours fulfilling their responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system. As the men and women citizens elect to represent them in education matters, school boards represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making in education. The men and women serving our school district are:
Bea Hart-Moss, Chairman
Andrew H. Knox, Vice Chairman
William Hopkins
Darrell Wells
Jarvis McNair
Robert Anthony
Sarah Alfriend.
As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students. The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education. Please visit for more information.